The RTST is delighted to be running its RTST Sir Peter Hall Director Award 2018 with Royal & Derngate in Northampton.  The winner of the Award will win the opportunity to direct a play on the Royal Stage at Royal & Derngate in a co-production between Royal & Derngate and English Touring Theatre. The play will be produced as part of Royal & Derngate’s “Made in Northampton” programme in 2019, and will subsequently go on tour to main house theatres (“the Production”).  We are particularly keen to see candidates from a diversity of backgrounds, interests and needs, pitching productions which authentically mirror UK audiences. We welcome applications from parents and others who need to balance their caring responsibilities with their working lives.

How the RTST Sir Peter Hall Director Award 2018 Works

The RTST Sir Peter Hall Director Award Scheme opens for entries on 16 April 2018 and the deadline for entries is 6pm on Monday, 4 June 2018.

Candidates are invited to pitch their ideas for directing a production that will bring together a diverse range of exciting practitioners to create an imaginative, surprising and popular production for the widest possible audiences in Northamptonshire and elsewhere in the UK.  Candidates can choose a classic or modern play (in English or otherwise), or an adaptation of a novel or film. The candidate’s ideas for their chosen play must demonstrate their artistic potential and the potential of their production to cultivate large audiences.  As part of the Entry Form, candidates will be asked to write letters to (i) (jointly) the Artistic Directors at Royal & Derngate and English Touring Theatre (ii) their chosen set and costume designer and (iii) a lead actor in their Production.

In the case of a proposed adaptation of a novel, film or non-English language play, a candidate must specify an ideal choice of writer to undertake the adaptation.  The candidate must give reasons for their choice of writer, and how they would like the writer to approach the adaptation.

Written entries will be considered by the RTST with the assistance of Royal & Derngate with a view to producing a Long-list of up to 20 entries.  The Long-list will be submitted for consideration by a Selection Panel comprising: chair James Dacre (Artistic Director of Royal & Derngate), and judges Sir Trevor Nunn CBEKwame Kwei-Armah OBE (Artistic Director of the Young Vic); Olivier Award-nominees Tanya Moodie and Samantha Bond; Olivier Award-winner Dame Harriet Walter DBE; Jenny Sealey MBE (Artistic Director of Graeae and Co-Director of The London Paralympic Games Opening Ceremony); four-time Olivier Award-winner Paule Constable (Associate, National Theatre); and Richard Twyman (Artistic Director of English Touring Theatre).

The Selection Panel will select a Short-list of up to eight candidates.

Short-listed candidates will be invited to workshops on Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 July 2018, at which they will be required to demonstrate their directorial skills by directing actors in a text-based scene of a play. Candidates will be notified of the particular scene by the RTST in advance of the workshop.  The Selection Panel will observe and judge the workshops.

On the second day of the workshops, up to four finalists will be selected for interview, this being the final stage in the selection process.

The Selection Panel will choose the ultimate Award winner and runner-up. The winner and runner-up will be announced after the workshops.

Although there will only be one Award winner and one official runner-up, the Scheme is designed to provide a positive professional experience for all the candidates (up to eight) who are selected on the basis of their written entries to participate in the workshop stage of the selection process.  They will all receive constructive feedback from the Selection Panel after the winner of the Award is announced.

It is intended that the Award winner will benefit from the spotlight of publicity generated by the promotional activities of the RTST, Royal & Derngate and English Touring Theatre in relation to the Award and the Production.  The winner’s success will be celebrated at an Award ceremony organised by the RTST.

The RTST has agreed to make a grant of £50,000 to Royal & Derngate to be applied towards its costs of staging the Production.  It is a condition of the grant that Royal & Derngate participates in the Scheme and facilitates the Production.  The Award winner will not be required to seek funding for the Production.

The Award winner will be the sole director of the Production and will be paid a market-rate fee for undertaking the role in this co-production between Royal & Derngate and English Touring Theatre. The Production’s cast and stage crew will be paid at the prevailing UK Theatre rates or higher.

For rules and information about the 2018 scheme, visit our Rules & Information page.

To enter the Award, submit the Entry Form by 6pm on Monday, 4 June 2018.